6/11/2012

A Long Way from You by Gwendolyn Heasley Review

A Long Way from You by Gwendolyn Heasley
★★★★☆
Release Date: June 5, 2012
Publisher: HarperTeen
Age: YA
Genre: Contemporary Romance, Realistic Fiction
Format: ebook
Source: review
Buy it: Amazon | Barnes and Noble | Book Depository
For too long, Kitsy has had to satisfy her dreams of becoming a real artist by giving her friends makeovers before prom. So when her best friend Corrinne's family offers to sponsor her for a summer art course in New York City, Kitsy bids a temporary good-bye to Texas to say hello to the West Village. Between navigating the subway and the New Yorkers—namely, the Art Boy who has a nice trick of getting under her skin—Kitsy knows that this summer is going to be about a lot more than figure drawing.
Kitsy Kidd is adorable! Throughout the book I pictured her as a young Reese Witherspoon (from Sweet Home Alabama) with a cute Texas accent and fun style. Normally when I read Young Adult Contemporary books I look for a bit of romance, but in A Long Way from You Kitsy was all I needed; there are guys and plenty of sweet moments but Kitsy is definitely the star. Gwendolyn Heasley does a fantastic job creating a character that defies the rules of Upper East Side popularity and still comes up on top. All hail us Art Nerds :)

Gwendolyn also wrote Where I Belong about Corrinne (Kitsy's best friend) and in this companion to Where I Belong the reader is introduced to Kitsy's story. I haven't yet read Where I Belong, but after A Long Way from You I definitely plan on it. I didn't couldn't put this one down once I started it!

Kitsy is in New York for a summer art program. She makes all the touristy mistakes and does a great job being adorable. Her home life is anything but perfect, she's mature beyond her years and used to being the responsible one. This summer though, is her chance to be a teenager and have a memorable time.

My favorite secondary character is definitely Iona! Or, I-don't-want-to-know-ya Iona as Corrinne would call her. She's misunderstood (and likes it that way) and if I had to guess I'd say she's done with the glitzy NY crap; Iona's her own girl and ends up really being a great friend for Kitsy (think Kat from 10 Things I hate about You). Oh and I have to mention Art Boy. Totally drool worthy, and mysterious. But, Kitsy came to NY attached to someone. The question I kept asking myself while reading was; does she plan to keep it that way? This book is just an overall great read, it has all of the elements that I look for in a story.

Filled with genuine characters, NY scenery, hilarious moments, music, and art; A Long Way from You completely stole my heart and there are parts that still have me cracking up. Kitsy is an amazing narrator and hearing her inner dialogue makes her story wonderful and fun. It's a must read for fans of Jennifer Echols, Sarah Dessen, and Stephanie Perkins.

Other books to check out:

      

1 comment:

  1. I'm really excited to read this! :)
    -Montana@ The Book Belles

    ReplyDelete